American Sociological Association

Teaching and Learning in Sociology

The purpose of the Section on Teaching and Learning is to provide a professional outlet for improving the teaching of sociology from the high school through graduate level. It encourages and facilitates innovative and effective pedagogy and research. The section offers two awards: the Hans O. Mauksch Award and the Carla. B. Howery Scholarly Contributions to Teaching and Learning Award.

Section Officers & Council


Chair: Alison S. Better, City University of New York-Kingsborough Community College, 2020
Chair-Elect: Stephanie Medley-Rath, Indiana University-Kokomo 2020
Past Chair: Melinda Jo Messineo, Ball State University 2020
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Stacy Evans, Berkshire Community College 2021
Section Council Member, University: Kerry Greer, University of British Columbia 2022
Section Council Member, 2 Year School: Sarah Hoiland, Hostos Community College 2022
Section Council Member, 4 Year School: Michele Lee Kozimor, Elizabethtown College 2022
Student Representative: Jacobs Wayne Hammond, Washington State University 2020

Section Council

Teresa Ciabattari, American Sociological Association 2020
Lisa Handler, Community College of Philadelphia 2020
Mindy Stombler, Georgia State University 2020
Megan Kathleen Allen, Gaston College 2021
Elizabeth Borland, The College of New Jersey 2021
Sarah Nell Epplen, Minnesota State University, Mankato 2021

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership