American Sociological Association


The purpose of the Section on Theory is to foster the development of this aspect of sociology through the organized interchange of ideas, teaching experiences, research programs, and results.

Section Officers & Council


Chair: Marion Fourcade, University of California - Berkeley 2019
Chair-Elect: Greta R. Krippner, University of Michigan 2019
Past Chair: John R. Hall, University of California-Davis 2019
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Iddo Tavory, NYU 2020
Student Representative: Anne Marie Champagne, Yale University 2019
Student Representative: Katrina Quisumbing King, University of Wisconsin, Madison 2020

Section Council

Hillary Angelo, University of California - Santa Cruz 2019
Margaret Frye, Princeton University 2019
Ellis Prentis Monk, Jr., Harvard University 2020
Rhacel Salazar Parrenas, University of Southern California 2020
Monika Christine Krause, London School of Economics 2021
Aliza Luft, UCLA 2021

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership